Annual Convention, Mario Cordero, Chairman of the Board of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) - the voice of the seaport industry in the Americas - and Chris Connor, AAPA President and CEO, presented the annual Lighthouse Awards.  These awards recognize excellence for innovative port projects across the Western Hemisphere in the areas of communications, environmental improvement, facilities engineering, and information technology.  

Lighthouse Award winning ports and their projects include:

Communications: Overall Awards of Excellence

Category 1 - Port of Grays Harbor, Westport's Fresh Catch (Community/Education Outreach) 

Category 2 - Port of Everett, Port of Everett Overall Crane Campaign (Overall Campaign) and the Port of Vancouver USA, Port of Vancouver USA Digital Holiday Greeting (Miscellaneous) 

Category 3 - Georgia Ports Authority, Georgia Ports Authority FY2020 Annual Report (Annual Reports) 

Environmental Improvement: Awards of Excellence

Comprehensive Management 

The Port of Seattle, Port of Tacoma, Northwest Seaport Alliance and Vancouver Fraser Port Authority, The Northwest Ports Clean Air Strategy 

Environmental Enhancement 

Port Tampa Bay, Port Tampa Bay's Great Port Clean-Up 


The Port of Long Beach, Port of Long Beach Community Grants Program 

Stakeholder Involvement 

The Port of New Orleans, Port Inner Harbor Revitalization Plan (PIER Plan) 

Facilities Engineering: Award of Excellence

The Port of Virginia, Port of Virginia Innovative Operational Technology Solutions

Information Technology: Award of Excellence

Montreal Port Authority, CargoO2ai

To see the full list of winners and more information on all of their projects, please click the link here.  

A special thank you to our expert panel of judges this year: 

Gretchen Barrera: Environmental Manager, Alabama State Port Authority 

Todd Blecher: Communications Director, Boeing Defense, Space & Security 

Patty Boyden: Director of Environmental Services, Port of Vancouver USA 

Debra Calhoun: Senior Vice President, Waterways Council Inc. 

Aaron Ellis: Public Affairs Director, Fellow PRSA (Retired) 


Michael Fink: Director of IT, Maritime Exchange for the Delaware River and Bay 


Shawn Flaherty: President, Creative Strategies Public Relations 


John Foglesong: Director, Seaports Engineering & Construction Division at Broward County Government, Port Everglades/Public Works Dept. 


Jaclyn Goddette: Communications Coordinator, National School Boards Assoc. 


Lorelei Harloe: Principle, LKH Communication, LLC 


Maggie Kasperski: AASHTO Marketing and Communications Manager 


Anna Larsson: Communications Director, World Shipping Council 


Randy Lewis: Director of Health, Safety, and Environment, Port of Grays Harbor 


Mitchell Marovitz: Director & Professor, Communications, Journalism, and Speech Program, University of Maryland 


Christa Montgomery: SmithGroup JJR 


Chris Novack: Director of Engineering and Facilities Maintenance, Georgia Ports Authority 


Lisa Ochsner: Environment policies developer, Port of Los Angeles 


Susan O'Hora: Director of Marketing, Henninger Media Services 


Giles Pettifor: Environmental Manager, Port of Hueneme 


Christie Phillips: Blue Tree Communications  


Brian Turmail: Sr. Exec. Director, Public Affairs, AGC 


Henk Voogt: Asset Manager, Port Infrastructure, Port of Rotterdam Authority 


Marjorie Weisskohl: CEO, All Seasons PR, LLC 


Scott Whitehurst: Environmental Director, Port of Virginia 


Amy Wilk: AW Design Studios