The British International Freight Association has chosen Kevin Keegan, a legend of English football, as the host for its annual Freight Service Awards competition.

Entries to the awards, which are now in their 34th year, are still open and BIFA Director General, Robert Keen says that it’s not too late for members to emulate the multi award-winning footballer by being named as an award winner in the freight and logistics environment.

Keen comments: “Keegan’s glittering career included domestic and European success at Liverpool and SV Hamburg, as well as European Footballer of the Year Awards.

“Since the 1970s, he has been a pivotal influence on the way football is played, managed and perceived in Britain and we hope BIFA members will use that example to put together category award entries, which show how they are also pivotal to the successful management of freight transport and international supply chains.”

BIFA’s Freight Service Awards are open to all members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in managing the international movement of freight by all modes of transport.

Sponsored by a number of blue chip companies, each of the award categories is recognised as very prestigious and winning an award has become more coveted year-on-year.

Keen concludes: “The clock is ticking with just a few days left until the 6 October entry deadline, but there is still time to beat the final whistle; emulate Kevin and score a last minute goal by submitting entries for the awards.”

The awards ceremony luncheon is an annual event on the industry calendar and is scheduled to take place at The Brewery in London on Thursday January 19th next year when Kevin Keegan will host many BIFA members and their guests. Once again, it will provide a valuable opportunity for attendees to acknowledge both the finalists and winners, as well as networking with people from within the industry.

The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

General categories

Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Macbeth incorporating Peter Lole Insurance Brokers
Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Thyme-IT
Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore Systems
Supply Chain Management Award – sponsored by BoxTop Technologies

Modal categories

Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo
European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club
Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Port Express

Specialist categories

Cool and Special Cargoes Award – sponsored by American Airlines Cargo
Extra Mile Award – sponsored by Descartes

Individual categories

Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo
Apprentice of the Year Award - sponsored by Seetec Outsource Training and Skills