The Board of Directors of the Georgia Ports Authority (GPA) re-elected Stephen S. Green Chairman of the Board during its June board meeting. Green, of Savannah, is President and CEO of Stephen Green Properties, a commercial real estate investment and development corporation, and will serve his second consecutive one-year term beginning July 1, 2008.

“I am honored to have the opportunity once again to serve the people of Georgia,” said Green. “This is an exciting time to be part of the Authority that governs the nation’s fastest growing port in Savannah and one of this country’s largest automobile ports in Brunswick. Without the extraordinary commitment and professionalism of the men and women who work at the GPA and our many partners in the maritime community, the growth we have experienced in recent years would not have been possible.”

Green was first appointed to the GPA’s Board of Directors in July 2004 by Governor Sonny Perdue. Green has served on professional, civic and charitable boards and organizations including Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport Commission, the Savannah Area Chamber of Commerce, the board of directors of First Chatham Bank and the Savannah Vocational Technical College Foundation Board of Trustees. Green is one of the founding organizers of The First Chatham Bank and previously served as chief of staff to Congressman Lindsay Thomas.

Green said the GPA has a number of excellent opportunities and challenges in the coming year. “We are going to continue our focus on GPA’s number one priority – deepening the Savannah River channel. It is critical to the continued success of Georgia’s ports and the nearly 300,000 jobs throughout the state that rely upon the GPA, that the Savannah Harbor is deepened up to 48 feet. The GPA will also seek opportunities to realize new growth during a weak economy, achieve additional environmental initiatives and enhance port security.”

GPA Vice Chairman Sunny Park of Atlanta, GA, and Secretary Treasurer Rusty Griffin of Valdosta, GA, were both re-elected and will serve second consecutive one-year terms.