NASSTRAC announces the recipients of its 2010 Carrier of the Year program, an annual program that recognizes transportation providers on a quantitative scale in five key areas: customer service, operational excellence, pricing, business relationship, leadership and technology.

This year, a record number of NASSTRAC regular members who are qualified buyers of transportation services graded carriers they use on a 4-point scale in the following categories based upon regional scope and capabilities: National Truckload, Parcel, Expedited, and LTL (in National, Multi-Regional, Regional-Northeast, Regional-Southeast, Regional-Midwest, and Regional-West categories). Due to member growth NASSTRAC has experienced as a result of its expanded coverage to all transportation modes, the National Truckload, Regional-Midwest LTL, and Expedited categories all have been added within the last three years.

‘NASSTRAC encourages the high performance of carriers through this shipper-based recognition program,’ said Eric Morley, director of logistics and transportation for Best Buy Company and NASSTRAC’s current president. ‘NASSTRAC leverages this annual awards program to continually promote performance excellence in various market segments of transportation. Carriers and shippers alike perceive this to be a very credible program through which appropriate industry recognition is given.’ As NASSTRAC grows its association membership in all modes of transportation, it plans to continue expanding the categories represented in the awards program.

Receiving the prestigious NASSTRAC Carrier of the Year Awards in 2010 are: Werner Enterprises in the National Truckload category; FedEx Services in the Parcel category; and Express-1 Expedited Solutions in the Expedited category. In LTL, the following are receiving awards: ABF Freight System in the National category; FedEx Freight in the Multi-Regional category; A. Duie Pyle in the Regional-Northeast category; AAA Cooper in the Regional-Southeast category; Dayton Freight Lines in the Regional-Midwest category; and Dependable Highway Express in the Regional-West category. According to Brian Damiani, chair of the NASSTRAC’s provider relations committee and vice president of logistics for Simplified Logistics, recipients of the award will be recognized at the 2010 NASSTRAC Logistics Conference & Expo taking place April 25-28 in Orlando, Fla.