Steve Tyndal PPM®, Port Manatee’s senior director of trade development and special projects, has been elected to a two-year term as secretary of the American Association of Port Authorities’ Harbors, Navigation and Environment Committee.

The committee monitors, collects and disseminates information pertaining to planning, design, construction and maintenance of harbors and waterways and environmental protection matters related to the development and maintenance of channels and harbors. More than 120 port professionals throughout the Western Hemisphere make up the committee.

Deborah Hadden, Massachusetts Port Authority, was elected chairman of the committee during ceremonies in September at the AAPA’s 97th annual convention in Anchorage Alaska, along with new vice-chairman, Dr. Ralph Appy, Port of Los Angeles.

The AAPA was founded in 1912 and today represents 160 of the leading public port authorities in the United States, Canada, Latin America and the Caribbean.