Jacksonville Mayor John Peyton appointed local maritime executive Herschel Vinyard, Jr. to fill a vacancy on the seven-member board of the Jacksonville Port Authority (JAXPORT). The mayoral appointment must still be confirmed by the Jacksonville City Council.

“Herschel has demonstrated great leadership in his professional endeavors and we are pleased that he will bring his vast knowledge of maritime, legal and business interests to this board,” said Mayor Peyton. “As we begin a new era of global trade in Jacksonville, we look forward to his fresh perspective in addressing these crucial port issues.”

Vinyard has served as the vice president of Atlantic Marine Holding Company since 1999. He was an attorney/shareholder for Smith, Hulsey & Busey from 1990 -1999.

An active leader in a number of legal, business and maritime-related professional organizations, Vinyard has served on the Shipbuilders Council of America, Maritime Transportation National Advisory Council, First Coast Manufacturer’s Association, Associated Industries of Florida, Leadership Florida Class of 2005-2006, Leadership Jacksonville Class of 2007-2008, Jacksonville Regional Chamber of Commerce and Manufacturers Association of Florida.

He is a member of the Florida Bar, the Jacksonville Bar Association, the Louisiana State Bar and the District of Columbia Bar, and he earned both a bachelor’s and law degree from Louisiana State University. 

“I am pleased to welcome Herschel aboard at this crucial time in JAXPORT’s history,” said JAXPORT Executive Director Rick Ferrin. “His in-depth knowledge of the industry rounds out the strength of JAXPORT’s board as we head into this period of unprecedented growth.”

Once confirmed, Vinyard will join the following on the JAXPORT Board of Directors:

  • William C. Mason, Chairman
  • David G. Kulik, Vice Chairman
  • Reginald Gaffney, Secretary
  • L. Buck Fowler, Treasurer
  • Ricardo Morales, Jr., Member
  • Andrew B. Fogarty, Member

The Mayor of Jacksonville appoints four of JAXPORT’s board members and the Governor of Florida appoints three members. Board members serve four-year terms and may be appointed to one additional term.